Dear Black People

There is a verse that I’ve broken down on MANY occasions so people can properly understand it. It’s Philippians 4:13. Take a look starting with verse eleven:

“11 Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: 12 I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.  13I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me

Read the whole book of Philippians to get even more context for this one, often misquoted verse. Paul is talking about being in distress and dealing with persecution! Not physical strength!

My People! We are being persecuted.

And that’s what this verse is for, not a display of physical strength! When we face a set of bleak circumstances like we see now, remember; I can be content and at peace on the inside even though hell is breaking loose on the outside. I can do these things through Christ’s strength.  Even though we see countless black men being executed on camera with no justice, I can get up, go to work, continue to protect and provide for my family, through Christ’s strength. Otherwise, I would never step foot out of my house in complete fear.

Finally, Consider it pure joy when you face adversity.

James 2 says: My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.

Trials put your faith on trial, and every test of adversity tests your faith in God.
Im not saying don’t see this as racial injustice..because it is. But also consider this a trial and the testing of your faith.

We have faith in God in every area, (finances for sure) but will we put our faith in God in this area? In this area i really do have faith the size of a mustard seed! I can’t trust the justice system to do ANYTHING right. Freddie Gray, Alton Sterling, Philando Castile, Tamir rice, Trayvon Martin, Sandra Bland, dylan roof, brock turner, HILLARY CLINTON proves that! We have to stop putting our trust in man and trust God! Putting your trust in man will fail you every time!

Remember this: For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. (Ephesians 6:12). We keep looking to hold man accountable for their corrupt behavior, but ask yourself who is really behind it? Dont forget we have an adversary.

3 thoughts on “Dear Black People

    1. Great question! I believe in being biblical AND practical. Im coming from a perspective of “man i need to seek God first before I move (biblical). But practical actions to take are as follows: planning outreach events to unify your community, attending activist meetings to put plans in order and boycott and protest. We also need to move our money to black banks like Citizens united, boycott target and pepsi products for at least a month, and black out major social media sites for about a month as well (snapchat, Facebook, instagram).

      Like

Leave a Reply

